About The Philippines

The Philippines is a an archipelagic country of 7,641 islands according to last counting. Of those islands about 5,000 have no name or are inhabited.

Situated in the western Pacific Ocean, it is categorized broadly under three main geographical divisions from north to south: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. The capital city of the Philippines is Manila and the most populous city is Quezon City, both part of Metro Manila.

The Philippines was named in honor of King Philip II of Spain. Spanish explorer Ruy López de Villalobos, during his expedition in 1542, named the islands of Leyte and SamarFelipinas after the then-Prince of Asturias.

The Philippines is one of the 17 mega biodiverse countries, containing two-thirds of the Earth’s biodiversity and 70 percent of world’s plants and animal species due to its geographical isolation, diverse habitats and high rates of endemism. The Philippines’ biodiversity provides several ecosystem services. It provides food, water, energy sources, pharmaceuticals, biomass fuels, carbon sequestration and climate regulation, crop pollination, cultural and spiritual inspiration and ecotourism value.


The Climate of the Philippines is either tropical rainforest, tropical savanna or tropical monsoon, or humid subtropical (in higher-altitude areas) characterized by relatively high temperature, oppressive humidity and plenty of rainfall. … The winter monsoon brings cooler air from November to February.

Make it known to the world ! And your friends !

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *